Ex-FIFA referee reveals new reason England penalty shouldn't have stood as fresh footage emerges

Dumfries Kane England Netherlands

England were awarded a penalty for Denzel Dumfries’ obstacle on Harry Kane.

A former FIFA umpire cases England should not have been awarded a penalty for Denzel Dumfries’ obstacle on Harry Kane possessing witnessed fresh video missed out on by VAR.

Ollie Watkins scored a gorgeous late impulse to see Gareth Southgate’s side into the final versus Spain after Harry Kane’s penalty cancelled out Xavi Simons’ early opener.

The Three Lions overcome the initially fifty percent and were the better team throughout the arcade as a entirety, but the penalty was a time of controversy, and spearheaded Gary Neville and Ian Wright to clash in the ITV studio.

Referee Felix Zwayer didn’t honor the place kick on sector but readjusted his judgment possessing been prompted to kind at the pitchside brandish after Denzel Dumfries trapped Kane as he dared to block the striker’s inoculation.

‘It is a clear hand’

However former FIFA umpire Jonas Eriksson cases an violation was missed out on moments in the past that which be qualified to adjudicated the penalty out.

Eriksson, that officiated at the 2014 Planet Cup and Liverpool’s Europa League final in 2016, stipulated that England winger Bukayo Saka cornered treatment of the sphere into Kane’s course for his inoculation on impulse.

“Here, I am staggered that they wear’t go and kind and overturn the penalty,” Eriksson stipulated.

“According to the rulebook, it is a penalty. In actuality, as shortly as you have to analyze it, I wear’t assume it should be a punishment.

“It is a clear hand [from Saka] and it methodologies that most certainly no penalty should be awarded to Kane.”

👉 16 Verdicts on England 2-1 Netherlands: Watkins, subs, Mainoo, Southgate, *that* penalty and more
👉 ‘Arise Sir Gareth of Southgate’ as England fans respond to supernatural victory
👉 England player seniorities v Netherlands: Watkins a national rescuer as Foden, Mainoo radiance

‘That cases a ton’

Virgil van Dijk, that was booked in the second-fifty percent for dissent after the umpire dropped short to honor the Netherlands a edge, took strive at Zwayer, pretending what the official did after the final whistle was telling.

“The umpire ran previously inside uncolored after the full-time whistle, that cases a ton,” Van Dijk stipulated.

“I had most certainly no time to smoothie mix his hand. However it is what it is, the arcade is shouldered out, we thrown away, particular moments were detectable that they be qualified to gone our way, but they didn’t, whatever the output.”

Description European Champion

Related Articles

Back to top button